Categories
Cover Reveal Emma's Anticipated Treasures

Cover Reveal: The Art of Loving You by Amelia Henley

Today I am delighted to be sharing with you the beautiful cover for The Art of Loving You, the latest book by Amelia Henley, which is published on July 22nd by HQ.

SYNOPSIS:

The brand new emotional and heart-breaking novel from Amelia Henley.
Perfect for fans of Rebecca Serle, Josie Silver and Sophie Cousens.

* * * *

They were so in love . . .
And then life changed forever . . .
Will they find happiness again?

Libby and Jack are the happiest they’ve ever been. Thanks to their dear friend, eighty-year-old Sid, they’ve just bought their first house together, and it’s the beginning of the life they’ve always dreamed of.

But the universe has other plans for Libby and Jack and a devastating twist of fate shatters their world.

All of a sudden life is looking very different, and unlikely though it seems, might Sid be the one person who can help Libby and Jack move forward when what they loved the most has been lost?

The Art of Loving You is a beautiful love story for our times. Romantic and uplifting, it will break your heart and then put it back together again.

You can pre-order your copy here.

Categories
Blog Tours

Blog Tour: Uncoupling by Lorraine Brown

Published: February 18th, 2021
Publisher: Orion
Genre: Romance Novel, Contemporary Romance, Humorous Fiction
Format: Hardcover, Kindle, Audio

I am delighted to share my review for this uplifting debut. Thank you to Orion for the invitation to take part in the tour and for my gifted ARC.

SYNOPSIS:

Could one split second change her life forever?

Hannah and Si are in love and on the same track – that is, until their train divides on the way to a wedding. The next morning, Hannah wakes up in Paris and realises that her boyfriend (and her ticket) are 300 miles away in Amsterdam!

But then Hannah meets Léo on the station platform, and he’s everything Si isn’t. Spending the day with him in Paris forces Hannah to question how well she really knows herself – and whether, sometimes, you need to go in the wrong direction to find everything you’ve been looking for…

MY REVIEW:

After a romantic break in Venice, Hannah and Si are on their way to his sister’s wedding in Amsterdam. Then, following a calamitous series of events, Hannah finds herself stranded alone in Paris with no passport, luggage, purse or phone. At the station she meets Leo, a suave, handsome French man who while vexing her at first, slowly reveals himself to be everything that Si isn’t. Could a series of mistakes have led Hannah to what she didn’t know she was missing all along afterall?

Charming, absorbing and uplifting, this was the perfect Valentines read. Wonderfully cliched and featuring my favourite romance trope – enemies to lovers – this was pure heartwarming escapism. I travelled through the pages to Paris as the author’s vivid imagery brought the city to life. It felt like I was there alongside Hannah exploring the city and enjoying Leo’s guided tour of the city of love. I have been to Paris once, on a day trip during a French Exchange trip when I was a teenager many years ago, and I found myself reminiscing and wanting to get out my grainy photos of that rainy day. It has also made me want to go back with my partner and see the city through fresh eyes, a little like Hannah did in the story. 

The story and characters are richly drawn and compelling, the author crafting a novel that is part contemporary love story and part self-discovery. Hannah and Leo are entertaining and compelling characters and the story is richly drawn and transportive. It was like I could hear Leo’s French accent and picture his darkly handsome features. I could feel the anxiety and frustration radiating from Hannah, and later her inner turmoil as she began to question so many things about her life. 

Funny, engaging and utterly delightful, this debut is a welcome escape and the perfect pick-me-up for those lockdown or winter blues. I highly recommend this book and can’t wait to read more from the author in the future.

Rating: ✯✯✯✯

MEET THE AUTHOR:

Lorraine Brown previously trained as an actress and has recently completed the final year of a postgraduate diploma in psychodynamic counselling. She lives in London with her partner and their 8-year-old son and can usually be found writing in coffee shops, feeling guilty about not going to the gym and watching too much Netflix. Uncoupling is her debut novel and is being published in the UK by Orion and in the USA by Penguin Random House (as The Paris Connection), as well as in Germany, The Netherlands, Italy, Portugal, The Czech Republic, Croatia and Turkey.

Website | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook

BUY THE BOOK:

Waterstones*| Bookshop.org*| Amazon UK*| Amazon US | Kobo| Google Books | Apple Books
*These links are affiliate links

Please check out the reviews from other bloggers on the tour.

Thank you for reading. Until next time, Bibliophiles, Emma xxx

Categories
Blog Tours

Blog Tour: Rescue Me by Sarra Manning

Published: January 21st, 2021
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Format: Hardcover, Kindle, Audio
Genre: Contemporary Romance, Romance Novel, Humorous Fiction

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for this utterly heartwarming novel. Thank you Niamh at Hodder and Stoughton for the invitation to take part and my gifted ARC.

SYNOPSIS:

Margot doesn’t have time for love.

Will is afraid to love.

And neither of them are expecting to fall in love with Blossom: a gentle Staffy with a tragic past, a belly made for rubbing and a head the size of a football.

After their first meeting at the rescue centre, both Margot and Will want to adopt Blossom so reluctantly agree to share custody. But Will’s obsession for micro-managing and clear-cut boundaries and Margot’s need to smother Blossom with affection, means that soon they have a very confused and badly behaved dog on their hands.

Can they put their differences aside to become successful “co-pawrents” and maybe even friends? And meanwhile, does Blossom have plans of her own?

MY REVIEW:

Heartwarming, uplifting, witty and absorbing, this book wraps its arms around you like a warm hug. It was just what I needed to read when I picked it up. Though I don’t know if  my partner would agree as I’ve been banging on about getting a dog ever since. 

Margot is thirty-six and ready for commitment and babies. Unable to find a man who’s as ready as she is and recently abandoned by her jerk of a cat, Percy, she decides to look for unconditional love at the dog rescue centre. She intends to adopt a cute, handbag-sized dog that will look good on the Gram but doesn’t bank on Blossom, the naughty staffy with bald patches, stealing her heart. The problem is Blossom has also stolen the heart of Will, who is at the rescue centre after being told by his therapist that he needs to open his heart up to others. Faced with the doggy version of the judgment of Solomon, they decide the only sensible solution is to share Blossom. But of course, things don’t run smoothly in this story about  healing and finding love in unexpected places. 

If you need a book that will lift your spirits when you’re down then this is the book for you. I adored this book. Yes, it’s a little cliched and predictable in places, but it is also a well-written, hilarious and tender story that gives you all the feelings. Many times I found myself sat smiling to myself like an idiot while reading and I kept laughing out loud and reading lines to my partner as it was just too funny to keep to myself. 

There is no way I would consider sharing a dog with a stranger as I know I’d find it too painful, but it does make for a great story that is ripe for conflict and hilarity, which the author mines to perfection. Margot and Will are fantastic characters who are both equal parts likeable and frustrating. They are both trying to deal with their own heartaches and see Blossom as a way to do this, even if it is kind of reluctantly in Will’s case. 

But the star of this show is undeniably Blossom. Like Margot and Will, Blossom stole my heart. The author’s love of dogs leaps from the pages and even if you weren’t a dog lover at the start of this book, I guarantee you will be by the end. Not only that, but if you’re anything like me you will be wanting to adopt one for yourself. We lost our old German Shepherd almost three years ago and this really didn’t help my yearning for another dog. I’ve been longingly looking at dog pictures and ads since reading this book and feel the hole left by our old girl more than ever. Don’t say I didn’t warn you!

I do like a good ‘enemies to lovers’ trope and this one was done so well that I couldn’t help but root for them and eat it up like the sappy woman I am. I couldn’t wait for them to finally get together and was going crazy with how long the author kept us waiting for it to happen. Like the secrets and twists in this story, the romance slowly unveils, raising the anticipation for the reader. 

All jokes aside, this is a truly wonderful novel that I highly recommend. It was my first time reading this author and I definitely plan to read more. And don’t miss the author’s notes when you’ve finished. I promise you want to read them. 

Rating: ✮✮✮✮

MEET THE AUTHOR:

Sarra Manning has been a voracious reader for over forty years and a prolific author and journalist for twenty five.

Her novels, which have been translated into fifteen different languages include Unsticky, You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me, After The Last Dance, The Rise And Fall Of Becky Sharp and her latest, Rescue Me, which publishes in 2021. Sarra has also written over fifteen YA novels, and four light-hearted romantic comedies under a pseudonym.

She started her writing career on Melody Maker and Just Seventeen, has been editor of ElleGirl and What To Wear and has also contributed to The Guardian, ELLE, Grazia, Stylist, Fabulous, Stella, You Magazine, Harper’s Bazaar and is currently the Literary Editor of Red magazine.
Sarra has also been a Costa Book Awards judge and has been nominated for various writing awards herself.

She lives in London surrounded by piles and piles of books.

Instagram |Twitter |Facebook

BUY THE BOOK:

Bookshop.org*|Waterstones | Amazon*|Google Books |Apple Books |Kobo
*The links to Bookshop.org and Amazon are affiliate links

Please read the reviews from the other bloggers on the tour.

Happy reading Bibliophiles. Until next time, Emma xx