Categories
Monthly Wrap Up

Monthly Wrap Up – March 2021

March has come to an end and it’s time for another monthly wrap up. I had a great month and managed to read a total of thirteen books.

Out of these thirteen book, seven were are debuts and ten are by new to me authors. I enjoyed revisiting characters I loved with A Court of Silver Flames and Nighthawking, and finding new series’ to enjoy with The Abduction and Mystery by the Sea. I also enjoyed taking part in my first audio book tour with The Abduction and hope to do more in the future.

********

With so many great books, as you can imagine choosing a favourite wasn’t simple. There were five that particularly stood out: The Lost Apothecary, Body of Stars, Dangerous Women, The Asylum and Nighthawking. But after some deliberation, I managed to get my book of the month down to two: Body of Stars and The Asylum.

Did we read any of the same books in March? Let me know in the comments.

********

Thanks for reading Bibliophiles. Until next time, Emma xxx

Categories
Blog Tours book reviews

Blog Tour: Mystery by the Sea (A Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery Book 5) by Verity Bright

Published: March 11th, 2021
Publisher: Bookouture
Format: Kindle, Paperback, Audio
Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Cozy Fiction, Cozy Mystery, Historical Fiction

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for this entertaining cozy mystery. Thank you to Bookouture for the invitation to take part and the eBook ARC.

SYNOPSIS:

A magnificent seaside hotel, striped deckchairs, strawberry ice cream… and a rather familiar dead body? Lady Swift is on the case!

Spring, 1921Lady Eleanor Swift, explorer extraordinaire and accidental sleuth, hasn’t had a vacation since she arrived in England a year ago. Being an amateur detective can be a rather tiring business and she is determined to escape any more murder and mysteries. So she books into the Grand Hotel in the fashionable resort of Brighton for some fresh air, fish and chips and, of course, a dip in the ocean.

Eleanor is enjoying her view of the waves and trying to find her bathing suit when calamity strikes: a guest has been found dead at her beautiful hotel. The distraught manager, who can’t afford a scandal, asks Eleanor to solve the case as swiftly as possible. Thank goodness she has her partner in crime – Gladstone the bulldog – to help her sniff out the dastardly culprit.

But when Eleanor enters the dead man’s room, she receives a shock big enough to make her forget even the finest ice cream sundae. The body is that of her husband, who supposedly died six years ago on the other side of the world. Has he been alive all these years? Why does he have a copy of their wedding photograph with a cryptic message written on the back? If Eleanor can keep herself safe long enough to find her husband’s killer, she might discover that everything is not quite as it seems beside the seaside…

A warm and witty whodunnit! Fans of Agatha Christie, T E Kinsey and L.B. Hathaway will be utterly charmed by this addictive and absolutely gripping page-turner.

********

MY REVIEW:

Brighton, March 1921. Lady Eleanor Swift is off on her first holiday since arriving back in England a year ago. The explorer extraordinaire and accidental sleuth is looking forward to some down time after the unexpected misadventures of recent months. But, before she’s even booked into her hotel, she is confronted by a dead body and yet another mystery waiting to be solved. The body belongs to Hilary, her husband who supposedly died six years ago. Can Eleanor decipher the few clues left behind to discover how he died twice and catch his killer?

Mystery by the Sea is a fun frolic that was like being in a time capsule; the author taking you back to a time when a trip to the English seaside meant striped deck chairs, donkey rides and a Punch and Judy show alongside the sea breeze, sandcastles and fish and chips. She brings it all to life so vividly that I felt like I was there walking along the breezy promenade, paddling in the sea and chasing a killer alongside the characters.

It is the fifth installment in the Lady Eleanor series but despite this it is easy to read as a standalone.  I can vouch for that as it was my first time reading this series.  Despite being an established series I never felt lost, quickly caught up on past events and soon felt like the characters and their relationships were familiar. 

Lady Eleanor is a dazzling heroine who I absolutely loved.  Outgoing, vibrant, daring and fiercely intelligent, she is a breath of fresh air and was a joy to read.  She and her butler, Clifford, make a compelling and entertaining duo who I could happily read again and again. I loved their witty banter and how their differences complement each other. Eleanor may dazzle alone, but she is even more glorious with him. The background characters are just as richly drawn; the female staff may not feature as heavily in the story but make a memorable impression and I can’t wait to see more of her blossoming relationship with DCI Hugh Seldon.

This book was just the tonic I needed on a difficult day.  Lively, charming, sharp and authentic, this glorious whodunnit lifted my spirits and left me yearning for more.  I didn’t need yet another series to add to my already bulging list, but I found one.  And I can’t wait to enjoy more of Lady Eleanor’s exploits. 

Rating: ✮✮✮✮✰

********

MEET THE AUTHOR:

Verity Bright is the pseudonym for a husband-and-wife writing partnership that has spanned a quarter of a century. Starting out writing high-end travel articles and books, they published everything from self-improvement to humour, before embarking on their first historical mystery.

Website | Twitter | Facebook

********

BUY THE BOOK:

Amazon* (this is an affiliate link)

********

Please read the reviews from other bloggers taking part in the tour.

Thanks for reading Bibliophiles. Until next time, Emma xxxx