Blog Tours book reviews

Water’s Edge (Detective Megan Carpenter Book 2) by Gregg Olsen


Published: May 28th, 2020
Publisher: Bookouture
Format: Kindle
Genre: Mystery, Psychological Thriller, Suspense, Crime Fiction, Hardboiled

It’s Publication Day and my stop on the blog tour for this gripping thriller. Thank you to Bookouture for the invitation to take part and the gifted eBook ARC of the book.


The young woman’s body is lying with her arms stretched out to each side. Her lips slightly parted. Her face untouched by injury and her hair spread around her head like a fan. A redhead. Just like the others.

When the body of Leann Truitt is found in a secluded cove in Mystery Bay, Detective Megan Carpenter is one of the first on the scene. The victim has tell-tale marks on her wrists, ankles and neck where she has been bound. But that’s not all. Next to Leann’s body lies a puzzling clue – an unusual symbol scratched into a rock.

With rookie Deputy Ronnie Marsh under her wing and the investigation underway, Megan starts to receive disturbing messages. Someone knows about her traumatic past. They know what she did.

Determined to stay focussed, Megan soon makes a chilling link between Leann’s brutal killing and the unsolved murder cases of two other women – all redheads with the same marks on their bodies, the same symbol carvings found at the crime scenes, and most shockingly, all had been pregnant.

The killer stalks his prey, kidnapping and torturing them in a very exact and methodical pattern. And he is not finished yet…

When the body of another woman is found bearing a striking resemblance to the other victims, Megan must crack the clues fast if she is to catch the twisted soul before they strike again.

Megan might be closing in on the killer, but someone is watching her every move. Can Megan hide the secrets of her past threatening to destroy her future? And can she protect herself and Ronnie before they both find themselves in terrible danger?

An addictive, gripping and completely unputdownable crime thriller from the Number One New York TimesWall Street JournalUSA Today and Amazon Chart bestselling author.


“A serial killer has come to Jefferson County.”

The body of a young woman is found in a secluded cove on Marrowstone Island. She has been beaten and strangled, posed, and there is a strange symbol carved  into a rock nearby. Detective Megan Carpenter is one of the first on scene and sets about trying to identify the young woman and find her killer. When she finds links to previous murders in the area it is clear they are hunting a serial killer. One whose crimes have chilling echoes of those carried out by Megan’s father. Could someone who knows about her past be sending her a chilling message? 

Water’s Edge is the second installment in the Detective Megan Carpenter series. I loved the first book and was eagerly anticipating this follow up. Once again the author had me gripped from the first pages and I flew through this readable thriller. 

“Someone out there knows my secrets. Someone out there wants me to suffer.”

In the first book there are hints about Megan’s mysterious past. This time, her past is unveiled in more detail and features heavily in the story, allowing the reader to get to understand her better. We understand why she has closed herself off from others and lives in fear while also seeing the strength and bravery it took to have endured and risen above such a horrific past and get to where she is today. As the case triggers memories of her past and she sees similarities to her father’s crimes, Megan’s determination to get justice for the victims grows and we learn just how far she is willing to go to ensure that justice is served. 

The introduction of Reserve Deputy Ronnie Marsh as Megan’s partner was an interesting character arc. Megan hates working with others and is resentful of being forced to take Ronnie under her wing, but she slowly begins to see that not going it alone can have it’s benefits, something that also makes her think about her choice to shun getting too close to new people in her personal life too. I enjoyed seeing some of Megan’s iciness thaw and her open up to having friends and relationships in her life. 

Water’s Edge is a dark, harrowing, tense and gripping thriller that keeps you guessing. Fast-paced, deftly plotted and well written, it is a bumpy and twisty ride that I didn’t want to end. The author has crafted a strong second installment in this new crime series and while it can be read as a standalone I highly recommend reading the first book too and can’t wait for book three.  

Rating: ✮✮✮✮✰



A #1 New York Times, Amazon Charts, Wall Street Journal and USA Today bestselling author, Olsen has written nine nonfiction books, seventeen novels, a novella, and contributed a short story to a collection edited by Lee Child.

The award-winning author has been a guest on dozens of national and local television shows, including educational programs for the History Channel, Learning Channel, and Discovery Channel.

The Deep Dark was named Idaho Book of the Year by the ILA and Starvation Heights was honored by Washington’s Secretary of State for the book’s contribution to Washington state history and culture.

Olsen, a Seattle native, lives in Olalla, Washington with his wife, twin daughters, three chickens, Milo (an obedience school dropout cocker) and Suri (a mini dachshund so spoiled she wears a sweater).

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram


AmazonGoogle BooksApple Books | Kobo

Waters Edge - BT Poster

2 replies on “Water’s Edge (Detective Megan Carpenter Book 2) by Gregg Olsen”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s