One Mistake by Rona Halsall ⭐⭐⭐⭐

2020-05-10-14-49-55

Published: May 5th, 2020
Publisher: Bookouture
Genre: Paperback, Kindle, Audio
Format: Psychological Fiction

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for this gripping thriller. Thank you to Bookouture for the invitation to take part and the eBook ARC.

SYNOPSIS:

How far would you go to protect your happy home?

Sara made one promise to herself when she was growing up in foster care: that if she was lucky enough to have a family, she’d always do whatever it took to protect them. Looking around her home with its cosy kitchen and living room, where her energetic teenage daughters and gorgeous four-year-old son all eat, play and live together, she knows she’d do anything to keep them safe.

So when Sara’s husband Matt loses his job and every shred of his confidence with it, she knows it’s up to her to bring the family back from the brink. Though she doesn’t know where she can possibly find the money they need to keep afloat.

Until her boss offers her a deal. He’ll help out. All she has to do for him is one little favour…

This year’s most gripping psychological thriller – perfect for fans of My Lovely WifeThe Girl on the Train, and Something in the Water.

MY REVIEW:

“She’d thought she was solving a problem, but she had in fact created a monster.”

Sara would do anything for her family. They are her world. And after an unhappy childhood growing up in foster care, she promised herself that she would always protect her children from the same kind of hurt.

When her husband Matt loses his job and she sees him becoming a shell of his former confident self, Sara impulsively takes drastic action to help her family. When her actions are discovered, she agrees to a deal that seems to be the answer to all her problems. But she will discover it is the beginning of everything spiralling out of control.

One Mistake examines the age-old conundrum: how far would you go to protect those you love. Sara has always said she would do anything, and she proves it with her actions over the course of the book. Yes, she makes some questionable choices, but they are all done with thoughts of helping her family at the forefront of her mind. She sacrifices so much about herself for them. What starts out as a small lie to just one person becomes much more as her lies pile up and bleed into every facet of her life. It is out of her control and she’s terrified of what is going to happen.

Rona Halsall has become one of my go-to authors. Her stories are always morally complex and filled with emotion. She puts you in the shoes of the protagonist and you find yourself empathising rather than judging as she makes you think about what you would do in their position. Without her ability to do that I would have written off Sara as stupid early on. Instead, I found myself with my heart in my throat as I wondered how on earth she would get herself out of this mess as her world collapses around her.

Unexpected, entertaining and immersive, One Mistake is an emotionally-charged multilayered thriller that will keep you guessing until the end.

 

rona_halsall-095 copy

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Rona lives on the Isle of Man with her husband, two dogs and three guinea pigs. She has been a bookworm since she was a child and now she’s actually creating stories of her own, which still feels like a dream come true.

She is an outdoorsy person and loves stomping up a mountain, walking the coastal paths and exploring the wonderful beaches on the Island while she’s plotting how to kill off her next victim. She also makes sure she deletes her Google history on a regular basis, because… well, you can’t be too careful when you spend your life researching new and ingenious ways for people to die.

She has three children and two step-children who are now grown up and leading varied and interesting lives, which provides plenty of ideas for new stories!

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR:

Twitter
Facebook

BUY THE BOOK:

Amazon
Google Play
Apple Books
Kobo

One Mistake - Blog Tour Poster

One thought on “One Mistake by Rona Halsall ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s